Gmail NOT WORKING it’s UNAVAIABLE USE IMAP

Ok, flash post today.

Today at 1:30 AM PST Gmail suddenly stopped working. It seems it is unreachable. Google Apps linked applications are also NOT working.

FIRST A NOTICE FOR EMAIL ADDICTS : PLEASE STAY CALM . DO NOT WORRY. EVERYTHING IS GONNA BE ALRIGHT

The Google’s Gmail support team says the following :

We’re aware of a problem with Gmail affecting a number of users. This problem occurred at approximately 1.30AM Pacific Time. We’re working hard to resolve this problem and will post updates as we have them. We apologize for any inconvenience that this has caused.”

Anyway, for all those who are experiencing technical problems accessing Gmail or Gmail is absolutely not working, there is a simple workaround :

USE GMAIL VIA IMAP

What, the hell, is IMAP ?   Just don’t care ! Using gmail with IMAP means : use gmail with Outlook Express, Thunderbird, Mail, Iphone MAIL or any otherIMAP client.

These are some useful links  to configure the main mail clients with GMAIL via IMAP:

GMAIL IMAP GENERIC HELP

GMAIL IN OUTLOOK 2007

GMAIL IN THUNDERBIRD

Anyway, to configure any client with GMAIL the required settings are the following:

Incoming Mail (IMAP) Server – requires SSL: imap.gmail.com
Use SSL: Yes
Port: 993
Outgoing Mail (SMTP) Server – requires TLS: smtp.gmail.com (use authentication)
Use Authentication: Yes
Use STARTTLS: Yes (some clients call this SSL)
Port: 465 or 587
Account Name: your full email address (including @gmail.com) Google Apps users, please enter username@your_domain.com
Email Address: your full Gmail email address (username@gmail.com) Google Apps users, please enter username@your_domain.com
Password: your Gmail password

Anyway I’m pretty sure everything is gonna be alright in a couple of hours…

YOU, CRAZY EMAIL ADDICT STAY CALM ! STOP HITTING THE REFRESH BUTTON ! SAVE THAT F5 !

As usual hope this is helpful to somebody.

27 thoughts on “Gmail NOT WORKING it’s UNAVAIABLE USE IMAP

  1. I don’t get it. Mine was working fine on that day, except for google chat. Weird! I so wanted to participate in that “my-gmail-is-not-working” crisis. 😛

  2. greetings…i think i’m a geek of another order..as in “slowww”er than usual to learn..which makes matters all the more grievous.
    i only have this computer because of my grandsons..and if they could read they could help me out..

    but here i am..up in Canada. I’ve just switched to gmail..and was most happy for the first month..and now i’m wondering ‘what have i done’??? and how do i undo this mess. There’s no one to call, which is what i’m used to..so i sit here in the dark hoping maybe you can shed some lite on the matter.

    i read your IMAP ‘how to’..but lost my nerve because it’s just me and the dog..and if i make matters worse with my dyslexic brain..then what???

    hoping you know..joanne,,with thankx

  3. This is happening to me today, April 14th, 09… I’m glad i found this post, b/c I wouldn’t know what to do otherwise!!

    Thx!

  4. Mine’s not working at all… can’t even open the page. It was like this yesterday too…

  5. From New Zealand. Mine just stopped about June 20th. I was having problems with the top delete button for a few weeks prior.
    Thankfully a few months earlier I had bought a Mac and was able to change to Safari which saved our business. I had decided to use GMail after having spam attacks on my PC.
    It does not matter whether its free or not. why don’t they come out with an explanation. And now companies are suggesting we use their office products etc on the web.
    I don’t think so

  6. Gmail will not load at all everything else will. I tried explorer,crome and firefox. tried several things but still no luck. It works fine on my wireless laptop but not the pc

  7. Sadly the simple workaround to gmail not working involves getting to gmail settings. I once told my friend that I’d locked my keys in the car and he said “so open the door and get them!”…

  8. i’m using thunderbird NOW and it’s grabbing all my gmail, w/o me having to get into gmail ahead of time to do anything to my settings. it’s SUCH a huge help. thank you!!!!!!!!

  9. Hello,
    just to make something clear I am NOT a Google or Gmail empolyee, nor a memeber of the Google support helpdesk therefore I don’t know what is happening to Gmail or anyone of your mailboxes, so It’s pretty useless to tell me your stuffs… anyway…
    If Gmail will undergo another Denial Of Service, google says any update will be posted here :

    http://gmailblog.blogspot.com/

    So, make sure you read it before attempting any recovery effort.

    Best wishes.

  10. When I try to access my gmail and it just keeps saying “redirecting” and a clicking sound this happened suddenly on Friday morning when everything was working and ok. I still cannot access my gmail

  11. When I try to access my gmail account i found lot of problem…What to do tell me i have urgent work

  12. Strange!!!!! I was facing problem to open GMail from last 3days..then I tried to open through HotSpot Shield and it opens. Now if I again come out of hot spot shield it freezes even gmail page does not open..keeps on loading and that’s all..same in IE and FireFox…What is this????, can anyone advise? Thanks.

  13. OK I read the “how to on IMAP” sounds pretty easy however I cant set it up unless I open my gmail page to switch it on. WTF gmail??? I need to access my mail? I dont know why I bother to post my email above when I CANT GET IN???

  14. Oct 31,, 2010 I haven’t had gmail for several weeks now. First I thought it was because google wasn’t loading. But if I click on anything else in google it comes up. So it isn’t google. With all the comments above I can not believe Goggle hasn’t done anything. I would quit google too if I knew what else to use. I have Windowsxp use Firefox. It has always worked before and never had any trouble. I tried deleting Firefox and reloaded it and that didn’t help at all. Then I read all these comments for clear back from 2009 and Goggle still has done NOTHING!! Way to go google. I think you will be losing lots of customers. Even if it is free, it is not worth all this hassel!

    And it is hilarious! check beloww for follow up comments vie email????? No one can get into their email stupid!!!

  15. Hello… I have downloaded and instaled Hotspot Sheild without any errors.. When I activate it, again, I have no problem… But then, when I try and use my Gmail Chat, it doesn’t work.. As in, my Gmail totally freezes and I can’t use Hotspot to call anyone in USA or Canada….. Please help me…

    Thank you,

    Deven

  16. every time i try to retrieve my email it says internet explorer can not display the webpage

  17. Hello guys,
    Gmail not working properly due problem occur like gmail outage or disruption. This problem affecting number of user.They lost there mail and there accounts.
    To prevent such loss you must take regular backup.Because if we have backup of our all important mail, we don’t need to bother for any kind of loss.
    One simple tool for backup your mail “Beyondinbox”.http://www.beyondinbox.com/documentation/mail-backup–how-to-backup-emails-from-imap-account.html

  18. Hello there, just became aware of your blog through
    Google, and found that it’s truly informative. I am gonna watch out for brussels. I will appreciate if you continue this in future. Lots of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  19. My programmer is trying to convince me to move to .
    net from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because
    of the costs. But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been
    using Movable-type on numerous websites for about a year and am anxious about switching to another platform.
    I have heard excellent things about blogengine.
    net. Is there a way I can transfer all my wordpress content into it?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  20. I blog often and I really thank you for your content.
    Your article has truly peaked my interest. I am going to take
    a note of your website and keep checking for new information about once a week.
    I subscribed to your Feed as well.

  21. Hey! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from an established blog.
    Is it very hard to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I’m
    thinking about setting up my own but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any tips or suggestions? Thanks

Leave a Reply

