Guide: Install Canon Mp150 & Mp160 Printers in Linux

Ok, welcome this time I’m gonna talk about a *simple* driver installation…

So first of all a brief description of the problem…

The Mp150 Printer installed in Fedora Core 7, Fedora Core 8, Ubuntu 7.04 Feisty Fawn, is NOT WORKING…using the standard drivers it simply prints blank, or completly white pages, even if in the *official* linux printing resource database, it is given as “Perfectly Working”…

Solutions:

1_ Use and Install Turboprint driver, FULL WORKING but ….. you MUST PAY…to have them working…

2_

Follow this simple guide….

This guide is full working for both the Mp150 & Mp160 series… and, even if IT IS a STEP by STEP guide for Fedora Core 7 it should be easily adapted to others linux distribuctions…(at least those rpm and gnome based)

so,

first of all, what do you need ? This time I’m not giving direct rpms links, just to avoid mistakes, and make the guide more easy…

Install Cups (usually already installed, it’s better if 1.3.4 or newer)

Install Gutenprint (please use the lastest, at least the 5.0.1, do not use the old one included in fedora’s 7 CD)

Install gutenprint-foomatic

Install the Mp160 Printer Drivers ver. 2.70 avaiable from Canon (RPM and Source code avaible — they’re useful even for Mp150 — file names are cnijfilter-common-2.70-1.i386.rpm & cnijfilter-mp160-2.70-1.i386.rpm)

What to do now ?

For Fedora 7 Distribuction

1- Connect the Printer

2-Click on “System” -> “Administration” -> “Printing” (system-config-printer)

3-Then if everything is ok, you should see your printer “MP150”, so click on it’s name.

4-Then Near “Make and Model” Click Change

5-Now choose “Canon” -> then look for “Mp160 ver2.70” and choose this one.

6->Confirm the changes, and choose to change all the previous configuration

The printer now should be WORKING !!!

What to do if…

if you can’t find your printer in cups…

You’re probably experiencing some problems CUPS-Related, take care of them using CUPS documentation

if you are not using using rpm based distribution…

Install from source…(probably you need urpm)

if you can’t find “Mp150 ver. 2.70”, between your Canon Drivers in CUPS)

Do a step back, returning to Manifactures page… -> Choose “Provide a .ppd file” -> look for “canonmp160.ppd” it should be in /usr/share/cups/model… anyway it comes from the canon drivers…)

if you’re not using gnome…

Use your printer manager…and hope for the best…

if you’re tring to share the printer using Samba and/or Webmin…

You need to change an option… from Samba page in Webmin

choose “Windows to Unix Printing” -> and “CUPS” as Unix Print Style

As usual, hope it’s useful…

Author: Federico Fregosi

DevOps Engineer in London

30 thoughts on “Guide: Install Canon Mp150 & Mp160 Printers in Linux”

  1. Ubuntu 7.10 (Gutsy) user here.

    I tried all of this and it didn’t work. Job just goes to the print queue, enters the “Pending” status, then “Stopped” status, then that’s it…

    …any ideas?

  2. I checked out the log files and it was looking for a filter that I didn’t install.

    So I reinstall it and, though it no longer complains about the filter, now whenever I try to print, it enters the queue with status “Processing”, then disappears from the queue (as if it completed) yet it still doesn’t print.

    Grr…

  3. My original problem was that I didn’t install the cnij files (only the scange ones). Once I installed them cnij, the filter error message went away.

    But I still can’t print. I’m pretty sure I installed foomatic (I think it automatically installed it with gutenprint. Here’s my dpkg output:

    wfsaxton@flyers:~$ dpkg –list|grep foomatic
    ii foomatic-db 20070919-0ubuntu3 OpenPrinting printer support – database
    ii foomatic-db-engine 3.0.2-20070719-0ubuntu4 OpenPrinting printer support – programs
    ii foomatic-db-hpijs 20070813-0ubuntu1 OpenPrinting printer support – database for
    ii foomatic-filters 3.0.2-20070719-0ubuntu1 OpenPrinting printer support – filters
    wfsaxton@flyers:~$

    Here are some observations:

    – When I tried to print this web page, the printer queue gets the job, the Status goes from “Processing” to “Stopped”, and the following output appears in /var/log/cups/error_log:

    E [03/Nov/2007:20:04:31 +0000] [Job 34] pstocanonij write error,32.
    E [03/Nov/2007:20:04:31 +0000] PID 6985 (/usr/lib/cups/filter/pstocanonij) stopped with status 1!
    E [03/Nov/2007:20:04:31 +0000] [Job 34] Job stopped due to filter errors.

    I think this error is due to it being longer than a single page.

    – If I print out a single-line text file, using ‘lp’, the printer queue shows the job with status “Processing” then it disappears.

    Let me know if any other information might be useful.

    Let me know what other information might be useful.

  4. Okay, I may have not gotten all the foomatic software because I did a “sudo apt-get install foomatic-*” and a whole bunch more got installed.

    Now, whenever I try to print anything, the jobs enter the printer queue, show status “Processing”, then go to status “Completed”. I know longer see any error messages in the error_log, so it is almost like it thinks it successfully printed…

  5. I got it!

    I installed “cups” version 1.3.4 and it works.

    Thanks for the how-to!

  6. Thanks a lot, It’s been 3 days I’ve been seeking for this driver…

  7. canon mp150 & fc8 had it printing & scanning in moments cheers, need 2 more files to be install for the scanner from same canon site so now can print my pictures from my canon power shot tx1 that also work first plug in with fc8 ! ( no not a canon fan normally ).scangearmp-common-1.00-2.i386.rpm , scangearmp-mp160-1.00-1.i386.rpm

  8. Thank you to anybody !!!!!!!!

    for Rober Runkel…simply use the Support section of the canon site

    for brian, happpy for you !!! good news anyway !

  9. I used the MP160 (printer and scanner) with Linux SuSE 10.2.
    After upgrading to 11.0, the old rpm’s were not able to install again the printer/scanner. I tried your recommendations but were useless.
    Any help will be helpful.
    Thanks

  10. Install Mandriva 2009 and Canon MP160 (printer and scanner) will work out of the box.

  11. I would like to make my Canon MP160 work on my Asus EeePC running Linux and am trying to follow your instructions. After downloading CUPS, it sais this link needs to be opened with an application. Send to: But where do I send it to?

    If you would be kind enough to guide me through this installation, I would be most grateful.

    Thanks,

    Stuarp77

  12. sorry ? what you mean ?
    who says the link needs to be opened ? And where you wanna send it ?

    Sorcerer01

  13. This printer works out of the box on openSUSE 11.3.
    It’s connected to the home windows PC. I configured the printer and now I can print from my linux laptop over the network.

  14. Hi to all..

    vould you please help me to install canon MF 4500 printer drivers (wich is in network)in OPEN SUSE operating system..

    Thanks in advance..

  15. Hey! Someone in my Facebook group shared this site with us so I came to look it over.
    I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers!

    Superb blog and superb design and style.

  16. I just couldn’t go away your web site before suggesting that I really enjoyed the standard information a person provide for your visitors? Is going to be back regularly in order to investigate cross-check new posts

  17. Followed the instructions on my RHEL notebook and it works – can’t do better then that.

  18. Every weekend i used to visit this web page, for the reason that i
    wish for enjoyment, as this this web page conations really nice funny data too.

Comments are closed.